About AXIOO PICO Notebook

On August 18, 2008, I bought AXIOO PICO notebook at RIMO Mall accompanied with my friend, Edi Budiasa. RIMO Mall is located at Jalan Diponegoro, Denpasar City, Bali. RIMO is biggest computer shopping mall in Bali. Actually I would like to buy an Asus EEE PC 900, but we didn’t find it. After looking at some booth’s displays, we found a nice looking AXIOO PICO notebook at Cipta Piranti Utama.

At first sight, I felt in love with this notebook. It has white color and 10 inch WSVGA LCD bundled with Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP 2. It is also equipped with Intel Atom 1.6 GHz CPU, 1 GB SODIMM RAM, three USB connectors, Speaker and Mic connector, WIFI, Web cam, card reader, LAN RJ-45 connector, stereo speaker and VGA connector. There is no optical drive in this notebook, so we need an external DVD drive to install the softwares.

We asked the sales girl about the price. She said,” Five million six hundred thousand Rupiahs.” I agree with the price but she said there is no technician today due to anniversary of Indonesia Independence Day. I said, “OK, we can install the software here but you have to lend us an external DVD drive”. She cannot help because there is no external DVD drive at Cipta Piranti Utama. I read at PC Media Magazine that Cipta Piranti Utama is a main dealer of AXIOO in Denpasar. How could there is no External DVD Drive at Cipta Piranti Utama? The salesgirl and the manager said that they can not lend us the drive. I canceled the transaction and looked for another choice.

At first floor, we found AXIOO PICO notebook at Tri Star. We asked him about the external DVD Drive and he said “we can lend you the drive and also the technician.” Well, I think no problem to install the software. We asked the price, and the salesman said, “Five million eight hundred thousand Rupiahs”. I asked “What about 5.6 ? ”. He said “OK”. Then I checked the notebook and we started to install the software.

I would like to install the Ubuntu 8.04 Operating System and planned to use it with Microsoft XP Home Edition in this notebook (dual boot). After exploring the notebook, we found that only one partition in 160 GB hard disk for system (drive C). We tried to make another partition using Partition Magic Software in Windows XP, but it failed to make another partition. We tried another way by booting it via external DVD drive and use Partition Magic in DOS, but still didn’t work. Then I decided to use Windows XP only and continued to install some free ware but excellent softwares such as Open Office, GIMP, Mozilla Firefox, Foxit Reader, FLV Player, Winamp, Google Earth, IZArc and Amaya. All of the software are working properly, except the Ubuntu Operating System. Is it possible to install Ubuntu OS in this notebook? Somebody help me, please?

By Sapteka. http://www.sapteka.net

6 Responses

  1. hi sapteka,

    i also encounter the same problem with my pico about the partition. but after i install paragon partition manager the problem solved. i guess partition magic doesn’t work in pico. i just download the trial version, but it works find. i can make 2 partition. a logical partition (ntfs) for my windows data, the other is ext3 for my ubuntu.

    but another problem that i had right now, is the ubuntu cannot boot (install). somethin i don’t understand, said: “udevd-event (1503) …”. after i search in google, it is said that we need to disable the lan chip from bios.

    since i can’t find the lan setting in my pico bios, then i still haven’t install ubuntu in my pico.

    if you have the answer for this problem, please let me know.

  2. contact axioo cust service 0361 241155

  3. i’m frustrating with pico partition….

    but tonight i’ll try my luck with paragon partition manager 9…

    thanks guys…

  4. nice review, how about bluetooth? and compatible using external hsdpa modem ?

  5. The bluetooth is an optional equipment. External hsdpa modem works well with PICO. I use vodafone hsdpa modem model E220 using Telkomsel GSM Card for hours every day.

  6. help, my pico can’t even boot. I havn’t make any partitions, so the only drive in my pico is drive c, where I save all my datas from my old laptop. Some of them are still in my USB, but most of the important datas are in pico (I havn’t back it up), and I can’t recover it by using Puppy Linux USB (drive C can’t be detected in Puppy Linux Portable).

    Does anybody have the solution? All of my campus assignment is in there… Please, because I can’t afford to lose it…

Leave a Reply

